The first Masonic Lodge of the Scottish Constitution to be opened in Port Elizabeth was consecrated and named Lodge Caledonia at 22 Lansdown Place.
Surrounded by Victorian and Edwardian building styles, this building is easy recognizable by its unique Baroque building style.
The foundation was laid by the Mayor, Maximilian Gumpert on 17 June 1899. The architect was Frederick Crage.
In the 1990’s the building was utilized as private residence and later as ad hoc art gallery. In 2003 the building was taken over by The Matrix…cc, an architectural company who carried out restorative work on the building for which the company received a National Award of Merit from the South African Institute of Architects (SAIA’s).